Adele, Duffy, the Jonas Brothers, Lady Antebellum and Jazmine Sullivan were nominated tonight (Dec. 3) for best new artist at the 51st Annual Grammy Awards.

For the first time this year, the Recording Academy unveiled nominations in the top categories via a primetime concert special on CBS.

Co-hosted by Taylor Swift and LL Cool J, performers at the Nokia Theatre included Mariah Carey, Celine Dion, John Mayer, B.B. King and the Foo Fighters, all singing their favorite songs that have been inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.

The proceeds will benefit the Grammy Museum, which opens Dec. 6 at the L.A. Live complex in downtown Los Angeles.

The 51st Annual Grammy Awards will be held Feb. 8, 2009 at Staples Center in Los Angeles and again broadcast on CBS.