Gene Autry, the Blind Boys of Alabama, the Four Tops, Hank Jones, Brenda Lee, Dean Martin and Tom Paxton all will receive the Recording Academy's Lifetime Achievement Award at a ceremony on Feb. 7, 2009, and be acknowledged during the Grammy telecast the next evening.

In addition, George Avakian, Elliott Carter and Allen Toussaint will be honored with the Trustees Award, and Clarence "Leo" Fender and Universal Audio will receive the Technical Grammy Award.

"This year's recipients are a prestigious group of legendary performers, creative architects and technical visionaries who have made lasting contributions to the music and global communities," says Neil Portnow, President/CEO of The Recording Academy. "Their outstanding accomplishments, legendary passion and artistry have positively affected our culture and will continue to influence and inspire generations to come."

The Lifetime Achievement Award honors artistic contributions to the recording medium; the Trustees Award is for contributions to the music industry in a non-recording capacity. The awards are decided by a vote of The Recording Academy's National Board of Trustees.

Technical Grammy recipients are determined by the Trustees and a vote of the Record Academy's Producers & Engineers Wing Advisory Council and Chapter committees.