Dublin-based electro rock act Jape's "Ritual" (Co-op) has won the Choice Music Prize for album of the year.

A 12-member judging panel decided on the winner of the best Irish album of 2008.

Other contenders on the shortlist included the Script's eponymous debut issued by Phonogenic/Sony Music, David Holmes' "The Holy Pictures" (Canderblinks/Mercury), Fight Like Apes' "Fight Like Apes And The Mystery Of The Golden Medallion" (Model Citizen) and Lisa Hannigan's self-released solo debut "Sea Sew."