Ireland's entry for the Eurovision Song Contest has failed to make the final on Saturday (May 16).

Sinead Mulvey and Black Daisy did not get past last night's (May 14) semi-final stage at the Olimpiysky venue in Moscow with their song "Etcetera."

Ireland has won the contest seven times, although it also failed to qualify for the final last year. However, Irish pop artist Ronan Keating has co-written the Danish entry, which did proceed to the final along with nine other countries from the second semi-final including Norway, Greece, Ukraine, Estonia, Lithuania, Azerbaijan and Albania.

The U.K. is one of the 'big four' countries that automatically qualify for the final 25 along with the host country, Russia. The other countries who automatically qualify are Spain, France and Germany, whose act Alex Swings Oscar Sings will feature U.S. burlesque artist Dita Von Teese during its performance on the night.

Norway's singing violinist Alexander Rybak has emerged as the bookmakers' favorite for the contest.