U.K. rock act Ash will release a new track for every letter of the alphabet from September, issuing the songs every fortnight over a 12-month period.

The trio from Northern Ireland has been recording the songs for the "A-Z Series" at their New York base, Atomic Heart Studios. Ash announced that their 2007 set "Twilight of the Innocents" (Infectious/Warner) would be their last traditional album release.

Their new run of single releases will be released as limited edition vinyl and digital downloads via Ash's own Atomic Heart Records and will be available through shops and by subscription through the band's Web site. The series of tracks will begin with A and run through the alphabet; the respective letter will be etched on each of the vinyl editions. Prices have not yet been confirmed although the "A-Z Series" is described as a subscription package.

Ash is launching its comeback with a free download, "Return of White Rabbit," which is available now from ash-official.com and as limited vinyl release from June 8.