Coldplay, Duffy, the Ting Tings, Elbow and electronic music pioneers Massive Attack were among the winners at the 54th Ivor Novello Awards in London.

The ceremony, presented by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA) and PRS for Music, was held today at the Grosvenor House Hotel. The awards recognize U.K. composers and songwriters.

Indie-rock act Elbow won two awards at the ceremony. The band collected the first nominated award, beating the Ting Tings and Dizzee Rascal to best contemporary song for "Grounds for Divorce." The song was a co-write by the BRIT and Mercury Prize winning band, and it is published by Salvation Music and Warner/Chappell Music.

Singer Guy Garvey described the band's latest award as a "treasure," and "a great honor amongst really fierce competition."

The band also won best song musically and lyrically for "One Day Like This."

While Elbow have been slogging away for almost 20 years, finally earning recognition for their 2008 set "The Seldom Seen Kid" (Fiction/Polydor), alt-rock duo the Ting Tings were newcomers last year. But the judging panel decided that their debut, "We Started Nothing" (Columbia), deserved the best album award ahead of Coldplay and Duffy. The album was written by the duo, with publishing by Playwrite Music (administered by Warner/Chappell Music) and Sony/ATV Music Publishing.

Manager Stephen "Tav" Taverner, collecting the award in the band's absence due to a European tour, told the audience: "It's really satisfying because when I first met them, the record company had dropped them, they had no manager... I'm just overwhelmed."

The PRS for Music outstanding contribution to British music honor was presented to Massive Attack by Blur frontman Damon Albarn. "You're brilliant, I love you," Albarn told Robert "3D" Del Naja and Grant "Daddy G" Marshall.

Coldplay - who are on tour and could not be present - won best selling song for "Viva La Vida"; the song was written by the band and is published by Universal Music Publishing.

The other nominated award, for PRS for Music most performed work, went to "Mercy," written by Duffy and Steve Booker and published by Universal Music Publishing (Booker) and EMI Music Publishing (Duffy). Duffy used her speech to point out that Ivor Novello was "a Welshman."

Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood won the original film score award for "There Will Be Blood" (Faber Music/Warner/Chappell and Artemis Music).

There were also special awards for Vince Clark (outstanding song collection), Edwyn Collins (Ivors inspiration award), Eg White (songwriter of the year), Smokey Robinson (special international award) and the Academy Fellowship, which Sir George Martin presented to Don Black.

"This is great honor," said Robinson. "It's ironic to me that you get awards for doing what you love. I've been writing songs ever since I can remember."

The best television soundtrack went to Julian Nott for "Wallace and Gromit (A Matter of Loaf and Death)" (Imagem Music), while the classical music was awarded to James Macmillan.

David Ferguson, the long-standing former chairman of BASCA, was also presented with an Academy Fellowship.