Slipknot emerged as the big winner at the 2009 Kerrang Awards, held in London tonight.

The band was crowned best live band and best international band, beating off competition from Metallica, Lamb Of God, Madina Lake and Green Day in the international category.

Other big winners on the night included Metallica, who won the best album award for "Death Magnetic" (Mercury), voted for Kerrang! readers. The band did not attend the event, but responded via a pre-recorded video message during which drummer Lars Ulrich joked: "Thank you Kerrang for this paperweight."

"After 20 some odd years we're still kicking ass," added the band's singer James Hetfield.

British dance outfit The Prodigy also continued its successful year by collecting the best single trophy for "Omen" (Take Me To The Hospital), while Atlanta prog-rock act Mastodon picked up the best video award for "Oblivion" (Warner Bros.), both voted by the public.

In addition to the public-voted awards, a further five trophies were given out on the night, including the Kerrang! classic songwriter award, which went to Linkin Park.

Reformed rock outfit Limp Bizkit also joined the party to collect the Kerrang! hall of fame award -- the band's first ever Kerrang! trophy. San Francisco's Machine Head were, meanwhile, honored with the Kerrang! inspiration title.

Crowning a year in which U.S. acts dominated proceedings, Alice in Chains were the 2009 recipients of the Kerrang! icon award.

The awards ceremony took place in front of 500 invited guests at the Brewery venue, east London and was hosted for the third year in succession by Anthrax guitarist Scott Ian, joined this year by Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor.

The full 2009 list of Kerrang! Award winners:
Best Live Band: Slipknot
Best International Band: Slipknot
Best Album: Metallica - "Death Magnetic" (Mercury)
Best Single: the Prodigy - "Omen" (Take Me To The Hospital)
Best Video: Mastodon - "Oblivion" (Warner Bros.)
Best British Band: Bullet For My Valentine
Best British Newcomer: In Case Of Fire
Best International Newcomer: Gaslight Anthem
Kerrang! Classic Songwriter: Linkin Park
Kerrang! Hall Of Fame: Limp Bizkit
Kerrang! Inspiration Award: Machine Head
Kerrang! Icon Award: Alice In Chains
Kerrang! Spirit of Independence: The Wildhearts.