The Recording Academy today (Dec. 11) announced that Michael Jackson is among seven Lifetime Achievement Award honorees for the 52nd annual Grammy Awards on Jan. 30. The King of Pop, whose sudden passing in June shook the music industry and fans worldwide, will receive a posthumous award along with singer/songwriter Leonard Cohen, 1959 Best New Artist Grammy winner Bobby Darin, Delta blues guitarist David "Honeyboy" Edwards, country queen Loretta Lynn, composer Andre Previn and jazz trumpeter Clark Terry.

In less favorable news, Miley Cyrus has lost her Grammy nod for Best Song Written for Motion Picture, Television, Or Other Visual Media. After Walt Disney Records disclosed that Cyrus' ballad "The Climb" was not expressly written for "Hannah Montana: The Movie" soundtrack, the Academy nixed the teen pop star's nod and replaced it with one for Yeah Yeah Yeahs' frontwoman Karen O. Along with co-writer and bandmate Nick Zinner, O is now nominated for the song "All Is Love" from the "Where the Wild Things Are" soundtrack.

"We appreciate the label's honesty and diligence in bringing this matter to our attention and helping us to preserve the integrity of our awards process," the Recording Academy said in a statement.