Regional Mexican hitmaker Espinoza Paz was named BMI's Latin songwriter of the year for the third time in a row Thursday night, in a ceremony that also named Hussein Barreras' "Te Presumo" song of the year and Editora Arpa Musical publisher of the year.

Colombian artist Juanes received the discretionary president's `ward at the 17th annual event, held at the Bellagio in Las Vegas.

Paz's knack for plainspoken, infectious romantic fare and his own budding recording career earned him the songwriter of the year award for a slew of hits performed by top artists: "Aunque Tengas La Razón" and "Vive Y Déjame Vivir" recorded by Banda Cuisillos; "El Coyote y su Banda Tierra Santa's "Cita Con Un Invento"; Julio Chaidez's "El Amor En Carro"; El Chapo de Sinaloa's "El Paletero"; Grupo Montéz de Durango's "Espero"; Jenni Rivera's "Inolvidable"; and Paz's own hit single, "El Próximo Viernes."

"Te Presumo," written by Hussein Barreras, published by LGA Music Publishing and performed by legendary regional Mexican act Banda el Recodo, received song of the year honors. The banda ballad was also No. 1 on Billboard's Hot Latin Songs year-end chart for 2009.

Editora Arpa Musical picked up the publisher of the year award thanks to Paz's compositions as well as its regional Mexican catalog.

The 17th annual BMI Latin Awards were hosted by BMI president and CEO Del Bryant and Delia Orjuela, BMI assistant VP, Latin Music, in recognition of the songwriters and publishers of the 50 most-performed Latin songs on radio and TV in the U.S.

Reflecting the strength of the regional Mexican radio format, the vast majority of the winners fell in that genre. Notable exceptions included Pitbull's bilingual "I Know You Want Me (Calle Ocho)," a multi-format hit by Armando "Pitbull" Perez and David "Hawk" Wolinski; "Ahora Es," written by Francisco Galán Blanco, Juan Luis Morera Luna (aka Wisin), Ernesto Fidel Padilla (aka Nesty) and Llandel Veguilla Malavé (aka Yandel); Wisin & Yandel and Nesty's "Me Estas Tentando"; and Shakira's enduringly-popular "Las de la Intuicion," from 2005's "Fijacion Oral, Vol. 1," co-written with Luis F. Ochoa.

President's Award winner Juanes landed two songs, "Tres" and "Odio Por Amor," on the list of most-performed tracks. He was recognized for his history of hit songs as well as his humanitarian work and peace activism, most recently with his "Paz Sin Fronteras" concert in Cuba.

For a complete list of winners, visit