For the second consecutive year, Lil Wayne was named urban songwriter of the year at Friday's (Sept. 10) BMI Urban Awards.

Earning kudos as urban producer of the year was Polow da Don. And the Black Eyed Peas -- whose frontman was also presented with the BMI President's Award -- claimed urban song of the year for "Boom Boom Pow."

Held at the Pantages Theatre in Hollywood, the annual event was hosted by BMI president/CEO Del Bryant; VP, writer/publisher relations Catherine Brewton and artist Ray J.

Urban publisher of the year went to EMI Music Publishing, with 15 of BMI's most-performed R&B, rap and hip-hop songs of the past year, including Drake's "Best I Ever Had," Beyoncé's "Ego" and "Run This Town" by Jay-Z featuring Rihanna & Kanye West. "Best I Ever Had" and Keri Hilson's "Turnin' Me On" were among the six songs written by Lil Wayne that led to the rapper's songwriter award. Rounding out BMI's roster of top urban producers were Shondrae "Bangladesh" Crawford, Sean Garrett, Daniel "Kane Beatz" Johnson, R. Kelly, L.O.S. Da Mystro and West.

Prior to the Urban Awards ceremony, the BMI/SunTrust #1 Show was held, honoring the songwriters behind the No. 1 singles on the Billboard Hot 100, Hot Rap Songs, Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs and Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Airplay charts. Among the songs saluted were Jay-Z and Alicia Keys' "Empire State of Mind," Katy Perry's "California Gurls," B.o.B's "Nothin' on You" and Eminem's "Not Afraid."