U.K.-based [PIAS] Recordings announced today it is re-launching its Play It Again Sam label. The imprint, originally established in 1983 by Kenny Gates and Michel Lambot, will join Wall of Sound and Different Recordings under the [PIAS] umbrella.

Mark Jones, Wall of Sound boss, was named A&R director of the new label group and will report directly to Edwin Schroter, label group MD. Jo Horton, who formerly worked at Warner Records and Bella Label, was appointed label manager.

In the 1980s Play It Again Sam was known primarily for its electronic and industrial signings with a roster that included Front 242, Meatbeat Manifesto and Young Gods. The label later broadened its sonic palette to include such artists that included Soulwax/2ManyDJs, Sigur Rós and Mogwai

The new Play It Again Sam roster will include Editors, dEUS, Joan As Police Woman, I Am Kloot, Drive By Truckers, Agnes Obel, Jim Jones Revue and Harper Simon.