Plan B Scoops Three UK Ivor Novello Music Awards
Plan B Scoops Three UK Ivor Novello Music Awards

LONDON (Reuters) - Rapper Plan B was the big winner at this year's Ivor Novello music awards in London, carrying off three prizes.

The 27-year-old from London -- whose real name is Benjamin Drew -- won Songwriter of the Year as well as the Album Award for "The Defamation of Strickland Banks" while his single "She Said" scooped the Music Most Performed Work prize.

Rapper Tinie Tempah won Best Contemporary Song for "Pass Out" and the award for Best Song Musically and Lyrically went to Villagers for "Becoming a Jackal."

Dizzee Rascal won the Ivors Inspiration Award while former Free and Bad Company vocalist Paul Rodgers won the award for Outstanding Contribution to British Music.

The annual Ivor Novello Awards celebrate excellence in British and Irish songwriting and have been judged and presented by the songwriting and composing community for more than 55 years.

The award ceremony was held at London's Grosvenor House hotel by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA) in association with the performing right society, PRS for Music.

The Winners:

Music Most Performed Work
Song: She Said
Written by: Eric Appapoulay / Richard Cassell / Benjamin Drew/ Tom Wright-Goss
Performed by: Plan B
Published in the UK by: Sony/ATV Music Publishing / Universal Music Publishing

Best Original Video Game Score
Game: Napoleon: Total War
Composed by: Richard Beddow / Richard Birdsall / Ian Livingstone
Developer: The Creative Assembly
Published in the UK by: SEGA

Best Contemporary Song
Song: Pass Out
Written by: Timothy McKenzie / Patrick Okogwu / Marc Williams
Performed by: Tinie Tempah
Published in the UK by: EMI Music Publishing / Stellar Songs Ltd

Best Television Soundtrack Broadcast:
Any Human Heart
Composed by: Dan Jones
Published in the UK by: Faber Music Ltd / Universal Music Publishing

The Ivors Inspiration Award
Dizzee Rascal

The Ivors Classical Music Award
Michael Nyman

Album Award
Album: The Defamation of Strickland Banks
Written by: Benjamin Drew
Performed by: Plan B
Published in the UK by: Universal Music Publishing

Best Original Film Score
Film: How To Train Your Dragon
Composed by: John Powell
Published in the UK by: BMG Chrysalis

Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music
Paul Rodgers

Best Song Musically & Lyrically
Song: Becoming a Jackal
Written by: Conor O'Brien
Performed by: Villagers
Published in the UK by: Domino Publishing Company

International Achievement
Matthew Bellamy, Dominic Howard & Christopher Wolstenholme (Muse)

Outstanding Song Collection
Steve Winwood

Songwriter of the Year
Benjamin Drew

Music Special International Award
Stephen Sondheim

(Editing by Paul Casciato)