Juno Awards To Be Held in Ottawa
Juno Awards To Be Held in Ottawa

Canada's Juno Music Awards and Juno Week events are returning to Ottawa, March 26-April 1, 2012, the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) has announced. 

The country's premiere music awards show, honoring all genres of Canadian music, was last held in the nation's capital in 2003, a year after CARAS decided to move the show around the country.

Following the major 40th anniversary Juno celebrations earlier this year in Toronto, the broadcast of the 2012 Juno Awards will take place live from Scotiabank Place, Sunday, April 1, on CTV. 

"We're very pleased to return to Ottawa for the first time since 2003's spectacular success of hosting Canada's Music Awards," Melanie Berry, president & CEO, CARAS/The JUNO Awards said in a press statement. "We anticipate that for sponsors, fans and the viewing public alike, Ottawa will once again capture the excitement and spirit of celebration that only Canada's Capital can deliver."

"Canada's capital region was the host for one of the most-watched JUNO AWARDS broadcast ever on CTV," Phil King, president, CTV programming and sports, added in the statement. "Since then, the CTV broadcast has become even bigger and better, so we can't wait to return in 2012." 

Sponsors for the 2012 Junos include Foundation To Assist Canadian Talent On Recordings (FACTOR), Canada's Private Radio Broadcasters and The Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage's Canada Music Fund, Radio Starmaker Fund, National Capital Commission (NCC), Province of Ontario, and the City of Ottawa. 

Since CTV first partnered with CARAS in 2002, the JUNO Awards have travelled to St. John's (2002), Ottawa (2003), Edmonton (2004), Winnipeg (2005), Halifax (2006), Saskatoon (2007), Calgary (2008), Vancouver (2009), St. John's (2010) and Toronto (2011).

The inaugural awards were held in 1970 in Toronto and originally known as the Gold Leaf Awards. A year later, the name changed to Juno in honor of Pierre Juneau, the first chairman of the Canadian Radio-Television Commission (CRTC).