Simple Plan to Receive Humanitarian Honor at 2012 Juno Awards
Simple Plan to Receive Humanitarian Honor at 2012 Juno Awards


The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) has decided to honor Montreal pop-rock band Simple Plan with the 2012 Allan Waters Humanitarian Award at the 2012 JUNO Gala Dinner & Awards March 31 in Ottawa, Canada's capital.

The Simple Plan Foundation was founded in December 2005 to help young people in need throughout the world. A benefit concert with the Montréal Symphony Orchestra at the new Maison symphonique de Montréal last fall raised over $300,000, putting the total amount raised to date over $1 million.

Deadmau5, Feist Announced for 2012 Juno Awards, Airing April 1

"We are thrilled to be recognizing Simple Plan's charitable achievements and dedication to youth welfare with this honor," said CARAS president/CEO Melanie Berry in a statement. "Their ongoing commitment to philanthropy and their Foundation is tremendous, and we salute them for all of their exceptional work."

The Allan Waters Humanitarian Award recognizes outstanding Canadian artists whose humanitarian contributions have positively enhanced the social fabric of Canada. Named after CHUM Ltd. founder Allan Waters, the award is made possible by funding from Bell Media's CTV-CHUM Benefits.

It will be presented to Simple Plan singer Pierre Bouvier, drummer Chuck Comeau, bassist David Desrosiers, and guitarists Sebastien Lefebvre and Jeff Stinco.

Drake, Feist, Nickelback Lead 2012 Juno Award Nominations

"To be recognized by CARAS and the JUNO Awards is a true honor for us," Comeau said in a statement. "As a band, we have been very fortunate to receive the constant support of our fans, which has allowed us to continue doing what we love for the last ten years. Because of that, we believe that it is extremely important for us to give back, and the Simple Plan Foundation is our way to do this..."

Over the Foundation's seven-year history, the band has made substantial contributions to such charities as War Child Canada, Kids Help Phone, Leucan, Fondation Portage, Fondation Les Auberges du Coeur, The Lighthouse - Children and Families, St-Justine Hospital, Dans La Rue, Gris, and the Montréal Children's Hospital.

On Simple Plan's 2012 tour, $1 of each ticket sale goes to the Foundation. In addition, every new SP Crew fan club membership will make the same dollar donation.

Previous recipients of Allan Waters Humanitarian Award include Neil Young (2011), Bryan Adams (2010), Sarah McLachlan (2009), Paul Brandt (2008), Tom Jackson (2007) and Bruce Cockburn (2006).