Patty Griffin and the Avett Brothers were the top winners at the Americana Music Association's sixth annual Honors and Awards, held Nov. 1 at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

Griffin took home honors in artist of the year and the album category (for "Children Running Through") while North Carolina's the Avett Brothers scored in the duo/group and new/emerging artist categories.

"Hank Williams' Ghost" by Darrell Scott took top song honors and Buddy Miller was named top instrumentalist.

In the lifetime achievement categories, Lyle Lovett was honored with the Trailblazer Award; Joe Ely scored in the performance category; Ry Cooder nabbed instrumentalist honors; Willie Nelson received the songwriter nod; Mary Martin was tagged top executive; and Jim Dickinson was tapped as producer/engineer.

Townes Van Zandt was posthumously honored with the president's award.

The awards, which were hosted by Jim Lauderdale, included performances by Lovett, Griffin, Amy LeVere, Emmylou Harris, Ricky Skaggs and Bruce Hornsby, the Avett Brothers, Elizabeth Cook, Ely, Guy Clark, the Hacienda Brothers and Todd Snider.

The AMA Honors and Awards show are part of the annual Americana Festival and Conference, now in its eighth year.