Rascal Flatts will be honored as the 2008 recipient of the Academy of Country Music/the Home Depot Humanitarian Award during the 43rd Annual ACM Awards, which take place May 18 in Las Vegas.

The show will be broadcast from the MGM Grand Garden Arena at 8:00 PM ET on CBS.

The members of Rascal Flatts - Jay DeMarcus, Gary LeVox and Joe Don Rooney - were selected by a special blue-ribbon committee comprised of executives in the country music industry as well as local and national philanthropic leaders for their ongoing community service and charitable giving of their time and talent. As the recipient of the Humanitarian Award, the band will be honored with a playground donated by the Home Depot and the company's national nonprofit partner KaBOOM!

The band, which is a major supporter of the Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt, has donated more than $2.2 million of the proceeds from their Nashville concerts to the hospital. They also host a Disney-themed party and concert for the children every year.

Additionally, they are involved with the Make-A-Wish Foundation and the Red Cross National Celebrity Cabinet.

Past recipients of the Humanitarian Award include Brooks & Dunn, Vince Gill, Lonestar, Martina McBride, Neal McCoy and Reba McEntire.