Acclaimed freelance journalist and author Deborah Evans Price has been feted with the 2013 Country Music Assn (CMA) Media Achievement Award. 

A long-time contributor to Billboard Magazine, Price received the accolade during the 47th Annual CMA Awards in Nashville on Wednesday night (Nov. 6).

"I'm so honored to win the CMA Media Achievement Award this year, especially when I think of all the wonderful journalists who precede me like Chet Flippo, my beloved former bureau chief at Billboard," she told guests at the Awards’ backstage media center. "The publicists in the country music community are the hardest working, most caring people and such a joy to work with. I'm blessed to get up every day and write about music I love and am so touched by this recognition."

A Look Back at Key Milestones at the CMA Awards

Nashville-based Price was recognized for her work helping country music “stay in the forefront,” and for her ongoing support of CMA events, which include the CMA Music Festival and CMA Awards. A contributing author to “The World’s Best Songwriters on Creating the Music That Moves Us,” Price wrote a coffee table book on the history of the CMA Awards, which was published in 2010.

She was a contributor to the Billboard Encyclopedia of Record Producers, in which she profiled such music industry legends as Sam Phillips, Billy Sherrill, and Ken Nelson, and she has served as Country/Christian editor at Billboard.

CMA Awards Photos: Show Highlights | Red Carpet Fashion

In a statement, CMA VP of corporate communications Wendy Pearl says, “Deborah is respected within the industry and is highly regarded for her passion for the music, her relationships with our artists, and her creative, collaborative approach to her work.” Pearl adds, “Over the years, Deborah has made great contributions to the development of many artist's careers as well as championing our legends.”

The CMA Media Achievement Award was inaugurated in 1982 to honor “outstanding achievements” in the media with regards to country music

The honor was jointly awarded in 2012 to Jennifer Meyer and Ray Sells.