Scott Helman

Scott Helman performs at the 2016 Juno Awards at Scotiabank Saddledome on April 3, 2016 in Calgary, Canada.  

George Pimentel/Getty Images

The Weeknd, Alessia Cara, Shawn Mendes and new “it” group The Strumbellas were among the winners at today’s (May 6) Canadian Radio Music Awards, a ticketed event held in Toronto as part of Canadian Music Week, which holds its own two day “Radio Interactive/Radio International Summit” packed with panels.

The awards luncheon, featuring live performances by The Strumbellas, Coleman Hell, Ria Mae, Cold Creek County, Scott Helman, and Jocelyn Alice, is billed as “a barometer of buzz in Canadian music. The hottest, newest names on the scene sing for their lunch in front of the industry’s opinion-makers, and stake their claim to a place on the nation’s playlists. If you see them here, you’ll soon be hearing them everywhere.”

That is already true for many of the winners.  

The Weeknd won two awards, fans choice, and SOCAN song of the year for “Can’t Feel My Face.” Alessia Cara nabbed a CRMA for best new group or solo artist: CHR for “Here,” while Columbia signing Coleman Hell won in the modern rock category with his hit “2 Heads.”  

Scott Helman scored best new group or solo artist: AC with “Bunglow.”  Standstills got best new group or solo artist: mainstream rock for “Orleans” and Cold Creek County won in the country category for “Our Town.”

The awards are based on Canadian radio spins in their respective formats, as recorded by Nielsen Broadcast Data Systems (BDS)  in 2015. Winners are determined by votes cast by program directors, music directors, and on-air personalities. The only public vote is for fans choice awards, which is voted online at

The three non-voting awards are the Senn-heiser charttopper award, which went to Shawn Mendes for top overall airplay; the Heatseeker award to The Strumbellas, whose album Hope (featuring the infectious single “Spirits”) just came out on Glassnote in the US, and marks their third album in Canada where they signed with Six Shooter in 2013; and the FACTOR breakthrough award, for “top airplay by an act that received financial aid from the funding body, Foundation Assisting Canadian Talent on Recordings, went to Leah Daniels.

Coleman Hell, Cold Creek Country, the Strumbellas, Leigh Daniels, Scott Helman and the Standstills were all on hand to accept their awards.

Best New Group Or Solo Artist (Adult Contemporary)

Colemen Hell- 2 Heads"
Francesco Yates - "Better To Be Loved "
Jocelyn Alice - "Jackpot"
Ria Mae - "Clothes Off "
Scott Helman - "Bungalow"

Best New Group Or Solo Artist (Contemporary Hit Radio)

Alessia Cara - "Here"
Coleman Hell - "2 Heads"
Dan Talevski - "Guilty As Sin "
Francesco Yates - "Better To Be Loved"
Jocelyn Alice - "Jackpot"

Best New Group Or Solo Artist (Mainstream Rock)

Saint Asonia - "Better Place"
Standstills - "Orleans"
The Wild! - "Slow Burn"

Best New Group Or Solo Artist (Modern Rock)

Brave Shores - "Never Come Down "
Coleman Hell - "2 Heads"
Elwins - "So Down Low"
Whitehorse - "Downtown 

Best New Group Or Solo Artist (Country)

Cold Creek County - "Our Town "
David James - "What We Weren’t Looking For "
Jojo Mason - "It’s All Good"
Leah Daniels - "Go Back"
Petric - "Here Goes Everything"

Socan Song Of The Year 

The Weeknd - "Can’t Feel My Face"
The Weeknd - "Earned It"
Shawn Mendes - "Something Big"
Shawn Hook - "Sound Of Your Heart"
Shawn Mendes - "Stitches"