TIËSTO, "Kaleidoscope"

Only Timbaland could corral a guest list more impressive (or more eclectic) than the one on Dutch producer/DJ Tiësto's new studio album, "Kaleidoscope." Atop Tiësto's whooshing keyboards and pulsating beats, the new set features vocals from Nelly Furtado, Tegan & Sara, Bloc Party frontman Kele Okereke, Calvin Harris and Sigur Rós' Jónsi Birgisson, among others. Unlike Timbo, Tiësto isn't much of a songsmith-a lot of this is longer on groove than on tune, and it all hews pretty closely to one sonic template. The listener can't always tell why one track called for the folk-soul stylings of Priscilla Ahn ("I Am Strong"), for example, as opposed to Okereke's post-punk yelp ("It's Not the Things You Say"). Still, there's no denying the big-room throb of cuts like Furtado's "Who Wants to Be Alone" and "Knock You Out," with Metric singer Emily Haines. And given the generally faceless nature of most trance albums, "Kaleidoscope" represents a virtual avalanche of personality.-Mikael Wood

- Album Review