Track Review: Bloc Party, 'Octopus'


"Octopus" (3:07)
Writers: Kele Okereke, Russell Lissack, Gordon Moakes and Matt Tong
Producers: Alex Newport
Publishers: EMI Music Publishing

Fans of angular indie-rock suffered a major scare when Bloc Party frontman Kele Okereke hinted at the possible demise of his once-championed quartet in an interview last year. But no need to ring the silent alarm: Bloc Party are officially back, and judging by the caffeinated guitar-rock jitters of new single "Octopus," they're more happy to be themselves than ever. There's something oddly comforting about the track's nervous energy -- particularly Russell Lissack's effects-damaged guitar riffs and the reliably dynamic flair of Matt Tong's drums -- especially after the bloated electronics of their last full-length, 2008's "Intimacy." "Octopus" may not be as immediate or instrumentally powerful as the band's mightiest anthems, but it's a raw return to form for a band that desperately needed a creative reboot.

Return To Reviews Main Page