Coldplay Wins Top Honors at ASCAP London Awards

Coldplay band members Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland, Will Champion and Chris Martin were named Songwriters of the Year and their hit "Viva La Vida" won Song of the Year honors at the 30th annual ASCAP London Awards on Wednesday night.

Universal Music Publishing was named Publisher of the Year for the winning song and other European tracks that had the most U.S. airplay: "Heartless," "Pour Some Sugar On Me" and "Sweet Dreams."

Coldplay sent a video message of thanks, as they said they were recording a new album with Brian Eno.

British R&B songwriter and producer Taio Cruz picked up an ASCAP Vanguard Award for his debut album "Departure" and British popsters Scouting for Girls won the U.S. College Award for their second album, "Everybody Wants to Be on TV," both from EMI Music Publishing.

Performers at the awards ceremony at London's Grosvenor House Hotel included songwriter Roger Greenaway, the performing rights organization's Senior VP International, who sang several of the hits he wrote with Roger Cook including "I'd Like to Teach the World to Sing" and "You've Got Your Troubles."

Imogene Heap, who was formerly half of the duo Frou Frou, sang some of her solo hits including "Whatcha Say," which picked up an ASCAP song award.

ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams was on hand for the proceedings in which 20 song awards were handed out plus honors for film and television themes.