MFBTY Return with 'Dream Catcher' EP: Watch the Title Track's Music Video

MFBTY, "Dream Catcher"
Courtesy Photo

MFBTY, "Dream Catcher"

It’s been four years since MFBTY’s standout album WondaLand, and now the Korean hip-hop trio is back with their new EP Dream Catcher.

Out on Sunday (Nov. 10), the album features Tiger JK, Yoonmirae and Bizzy returning to do their thing on seven alt hip-hop tracks, fronted by the swaggering title track, “Dream Catcher.”

Released through a music video on Oct. 25, “Dream Catcher” is a groovy tune that blends grungy rock instrumentals and impactful raps that reflect on each artist’s life and career. 

The clip begins with the logos of the South Korean Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism and Korean Creative Content Agency, and features what appears to be a person dressed in a Michael Jackson mask and Ghostbusters costume driving around before joining MFBTY to perform. 

At the end of the video, the credits reveal that the guitar featured on the track is performed by Yu Jung Wo and Shin Dae Chul, the latter of whom gained renown in Korea for his role in Sinawe, one of the country's most prominent alt rock and heavy metal bands.

Along with new sounds, the album is full of references to prior releases from MFBTY; the first track “Intru” offers up an airy, saxophone-fueled walk through the act’s sonic past, and things end with a remix of “Peach,” originally released in 2018 on Yoonmirae’s Gemini 2 album.

Take a listen to MFBTY’s Dream Catcher EP below.