New K-Pop Group AB6IX Officially Debuts First EP Album, 'B:COMPLETE'

Courtesy of Warner Music Asia


One of the most anticipated new K-Pop groups of 2019, AB6IX officially debuted with an EP album, B:COMPLETE, on Wednesday (May 22).

Although the five member boyband is considered a new group, none of the members are strangers to the K-Pop scene. In 2017, four of the members appeared on a K-Pop TV audition show, Produce 101, where Park Woo Jin and Lee Dae Hwi won the competition and joined the K-Pop boyband supergroup, Wanna One, until end of this year. MXM's Lim Young Min and Kim Dong Hyun debuted as the group MXM in 2017, releasing two EP albums and a full album during their two-year career as a duo.

In April 2019, along with announcing new talent Jeon Woong to the group, the complete five members revealed their group name, "AB6IX," under Brand New Music, a South Korea-based label. In the same month, the group released an official promotional video called "HOLLYWOOD," which featured four of the members' self-produced audition tracks for Produce 101 back in 2017.

AB6IX told Billboard Radio China about their debut EP album in an email interview: "This new album will consists of seven tracks, all co-produced and co-written by each of the members, with a title single called "BREATHE", a trendy tropical deep house track."

The EP also shows a dynamic style of AB6IX from fierce trap/dubstep ("ABSOLUTE"), acoustic-guitar-based dance ballad ("SHINING STARS," "DANCE FOR TWO"), and trendy funk ("LIGHT ME UP").

Starting with this official EP album launch, AB6IX is going to play a very active role in the K-Pop scene, both domestically and internationally, from overseas KCON appearances to their own showcases and fan meetings.