Lay Takes Fantastical Journey in 'NAMANANA' Music Video: Premiere

Lay Zhang
Courtesy of SM Entertainment

Lay Zhang

The song is the title track off of the Chinese star's third album.

Chinese pop star Lay (Zhang Yixing) is feeling powerful in his anthemic new single “NAMANANA,” and has released it through a captivating music video.  

The title track off of his first U.S. album of the same name, “NAMANANA” is a chant and whistle-filled dance track reveling in vibrant percussion and groovy horns, all while Lay sings about making it at the top.

A powerful show of his skill as both a singer-songwriter and rapper -- he co-wrote the English version of the song with Anthony Pavel, PinkSlip and Anthony Pavel -- “NAMANANA” is a declaration of Lay’s place in the music world as one of China’s most popular stars and a member of prominent K-pop boy band EXO. “I’m hot like wasabi/ And I promise that you can be like me,” he sings in one verse. “You gotta follow your dreams/ And when you hear talking don’t think about stoppin’.”

The English version of the song was released through a music video that reflects the imposing nature of “NAMANANA.” Making his way as a delivery man, Lay interacts with a cinematic world full of magical beings and fantastical, tarot-inspired imagery, wandering through vividly shot locales, deserts, storms, and beach scenes. The story is interspersed with dance sequences that emphasize the Chinese artist's sleek moves as he dons a wide range of looks ranging from athletic-wear to princely regalia.

“NAMANANA” leads Lay’s third album, which is also set to be released today (Oct. 19). It will feature ten other tracks, including the previously-released “Give Me A Chance." Each song will be featured in English and Chinese versions for a total of 22 tracks.   

Lay debuted as a member of K-pop boy band EXO (in then-unit EXO-M) in 2012 and, along with his activities in the group, has since gone on to become a prominent entertainer and artist in his own right in China. His 2016 solo EP Lose Control peaked at No. 4 on the World Albums chart, and has been followed by two other releases on that chart. He recently debuted in the Top 10 of the Social 50 chart at No. 10 following the release of his "Give Me A Chance" music video. 

NAMANANA's release precedes EXO's upcoming Don't Mess Up My Tempo album, set to drop on Nov. 2. 

Watch the exclusive premiere of the "NAMANANA" music video and see the NAMANANA tracklist below.


1. "The Assembly Call"        
2. "NAMANANA"        
3. "Give Me a Chance"
4. "Lay U Down"        
5. "Save You"        
6. "Hold On"        
7. "Thing for You"        
8. "Mapu Tofu"        
9. "Flavour"        
10. "Don't Let Me Go"        
11. "Tattoo"


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.