Japan's Cornelius Set to Release New Album, 'Ripple Waves,' With Drake Cover

Masayoshi Sukita/Billboard Japan


A year has passed since Cornelius released Mellow Waves, his first new studio album in 11 years, but fortunately, fans won't have to wait that long again for his follow-up.

The solo project by Keigo Oyamada will be releasing a new album, Ripple Waves, on Sept. 19. The set will feature reinterpreted versions of Mellow Waves tracks by Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Hiatus Kaiyote, Reginald Omas Mamode IV, Beach Fossils and Lawrence (Felt), as well as two versions of "Audio Architecture" written for the art exhibition by the same name currently being held at 21_21 Design Sight in Roppongi, Tokyo.

The album will also include "If You're Here" and a cover of Drake's "Passionfruit" recorded at Spotify Studios in NYC, "In a Dream" recorded during NPR Music's Tiny Desk Concert, plus previously unreleased and new tracks.

Cornelius will kick off the all-night SONICMANIA event Aug. 17 leading up to this year's Summer Sonic music festival, and perform at the Tokyo Jazz Festival on Sept. 1 before resuming his Mellow Waves domestic tour in October.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.