Black Sabbath, George Clinton & Parliament-Funkadelic Among Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

Black Sabbath, 1985: Geoff Nicholls, Tony Iommi, Dave Spitz, Eric Singer, Glenn Hughes
Chris Walter/WireImage

Geoff Nicholls, Tony Iommi, Dave Spitz, Eric Singer and Glenn Hughes of Black Sabbath photographed in 1985. 

The Recording Academy announced Wednesday (Dec. 19) that music legends Black Sabbath and George Clinton & Parliament-Funkadelic are this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award honorees. Dionne Warwick, Donny Hathaway, Julio Iglesias, Sam & Dave and late jazz singer Billy Eckstine will also receive the award, according to NME.

The award, determined by the Recording Academy’s National Board of Trustees, is presented annually to performers who have made impactful creative contributions to the recording field.

The Recording Academy also announced 2019’s Trustee Award honorees Lou Adler, Ashford & Simpson and Johnny Mandel. Saul Walker will posthumously receive the Technical Grammy Award.

The ceremony will take place on May 11, 2019 in Los Angeles.