Tina Turner, Queen & Neil Diamond Among Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

Tina Turner, 1971
Gijsbert Hanekroot/Redferns

Tina Turner performs live on stage with the Ikettes at De Doelen in Rotterdam, Holland in 1971. 

The Recording Academy announced Tuesday (Jan. 9) that music legends Tina Turner, Queen and Neil Diamond are this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award honorees. Hal Blaine, Emmylou Harris, Louis Jordan and the Meters will also receive the award.

The honor, determined by the Recording Academy’s National Board of Trustees, is presented to performers who have made impactful artistic contributions to the field of recording. A special award presentation ceremony and celebratory concert will be held in summer 2018.

The Recording Academy also announced two other Special Merit Awards. 2018’s Trustee Award honorees include Bill Graham, Seymour Stein and John Williams. Tony Agnello and Richard Factor are the Technical Grammy Award recipients.

"This year's Special Merit Awards recipients are a prestigious group of diverse and influential creators who have crafted or contributed to some of the most distinctive recordings in music history," Neil Portnow, President/CEO of the Recording Academy, said in a statement. "These exceptionally inspiring figures are being honored as legendary performers, creative architects, and technical visionaries. Their outstanding accomplishments and passion for their craft have created a timeless legacy."

The Grammy Awards will take place on January 28 at New York City’s Madison Square Garden.