Reggie Watts & John Tejada Drop New Wajatta Single, Announce Forthcoming Sophomore LP

Robyn VonSwank
John Tejada and Reggie Watts

'Don't Let Get You Down will be out via Brainfeeder in February 2020.

Together as Wajatta, Reggie Watts and LA techno legend John Tejada made one of the funkiest, spaciest and most surprising albums of 2018 with their debut LP, Casual High Technology. Pronounced "wa-ha-ta," the collaboration was sparked at a 2017 late-night warehouse rave, where Tejada was spinning and Watts was dancing. 

On Tuesday (Nov. 19), the musical polymath (and Late Late Show With James Corden drummer) and electronic producer are announcing that their sophomore album, Don't Let Get You Down (yes, sans the "it"), will be out on Feb. 28, 2020 via Flying Lotus' venerable Brainfeeder imprint.

The news comes in conjunction with the album's lead single of the same name, "Don't Let Get You Down." The track is a slick, simmering jam built out of Watts' silky voice, minimal drums, Tejada's metallicaly elegant beats and a good deal of whistling. 

Hear the song and see the complete tracklist below. 

Don't Let Get You Down track list
1. Renegades
2. Little Man
3. Don’t Let Get You Down
4. Realize
5. Tonight
6. 138
7. January
8. Marmite
9. Depth Has a Focus
10. Another Sun
11. All I Need Is You


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.