David Guetta Returns to Underground Roots With Jack Back Alias, Releases 12-Track Mixtape: Listen

David Guetta
Ellen Von Unwerth

David Guetta

David Guetta puts the Jack Back rumors to rest by revealing that Jack Back is, indeed, his alias. The announcement comes paired with a 12-track mixtape that showcases a fresh side to Guetta's sonic palette and will serve as the second component to the his forthcoming studio album 7.

While known best for his commercial dance hits like "Titanium" with Sia, "2U" with Justin Bieber and much more, the French star's start in music belongs to a more underground sound. In an interview with Pete Tong, Guetta says the album represents a "full cycle," which is why he wanted to go full circle and go back to his house roots.

"I originally started in underground house music, playing all the raves and underground clubs in Paris," he says. "I wanted to make music just for fun, with absolutely no commercial approach to it. I want to make every type of music that I like, I’m doing it for the love of music." Fans can tune into the full interview between Pete Tong and David Guetta this Friday on BBC Radio 1 at 4 p.m. ET.

Listen to the 12-track mixtape below and stay tuned for the official release of 7 on Friday, Sept. 14.

1. Jack Back - Reach For Me
2. David Guetta & Cece Rogers - Freedom
3. Jack Back - Grenade
4. Jack Back - Inferno
5. Jack Back - Overtone
6. Jack Back - Back and Forth
7. Jack Back - Pelican
8. Jack Back - Afterglow
9. Jack Back - Think Think Think
10. Jack Back - Orion
11. Jack Back - What 2 Say
12. David Guetta (feat. Chris Willis) - Just a Little More Love (Jack Back 2018 remix)