Claude VonStroke Will Release Detroit Movement Set as Live Album

Shaun Regan
Claude VonStroke

The annual Movement Festival is a Detroit institution. The city that gave birth to techno has celebrated its musical legacy for 12 years, and even before then when it was known as the Detroit Electronic Music Festival. Beat freaks from around the world make a yearly pilgrimage just to hear the greatest DJs in the world spin at techno ground zero. As a kid growing up in Detroit, Claude VonStroke dreamt of one day headlining Movement. This year, he closed the festival's big Saturday night event. It was a lifelong realization. No wonder he recorded it.

Yes, Dirtybird's Claudefather will release his big Movement bang as a full on live album. It's called Claude VonStroke: Live in Detroit, and you know the dude behind "Who's Afraid of Detroit" was going to give that city his all. It features a bunch of unreleased tracks and edits from his Dirtybird family brethren, including Catz n Dogz, DJ Deeon, Will Clarke and more. He even spun some of his own never-before-heard tunes and edits.

“I’ve played Movement more than 10 times, and every time it’s one of the most nerve-racking shows of the year,” VonStroke is quoted in a press release. “I always want to bring the hottest possible set for Detroit, it’s where it all started, and my parents always come watch. My set is very much an old-school-style DJ set, all music no one’s heard before, special versions, secret edits, all the stuff I’ve been saving just for this performance. It seems crazy to release a mix album in today’s world, but the amount of incredible original music I have collected from both known and unknown producers will make this something people can get really excited about.”

Claude VonStroke: Live in Detroit is scheduled for early, exclusive release on Apple Music Friday, June 15. It gets worldwide release Friday, June 22. Wyatt Marshall remixed VonStroke's Detroit love classic to mark the momentous occasion, which you can listen to below, as well as a teaser video for the album.