The Chainsmokers' Drew Taggart Named Co-Winner of Songwriter of the Year by ASCAP: Watch

Andrew Taggart of The Chainsmokers
JC Olivera/Getty Images

Andrew Taggart of The Chainsmokers speaks onstage during the 2018 ASCAP Pop Music Awards on April 23, 2018 in Beverly Hills, Calif.

Drew Taggart, lead singer and songwriter for dance-pop duo The Chainsmokers, just accepted an award as songwriter of the year from the American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers, or ASCAP.

"This is crazy," he says in his acceptance speech. "There are so many people in this room that I really respect and idolize and look up to.

Taggart was one of four winners. He gave a special shout-out to his fellow Songwriters of the Year Max Martin and Steve Mac, and an extra special shout-out to co-winner Starrah, saying she was "the truth," eliciting a round of cheers and applause from the room. 

"You think, you win an award like this, that means that you know something about songwriting. I still have no fucking clue," he laughs. "Every song, I'm always in a constant state of panic. I don't know if I'm ever going to have a big song again. Somehow me and my best bud Alex Pall keep figuring it out. Maybe this is it, honest it might be."

He also gave a shout-out to his "really close friend" and "amazing songwriter" Emily Warren, who wasn't in the room but helped write a number of The Chainsmokers' hits, including "Don't Let Me Down," "Sick Boy" and "Everybody Hates Me." He said she helps give them to confidence to believe in their own songwriting ability, and clearly, that's the right path to take. 

Watch a snippet of Taggart's acceptance speech from Instagram below, and look out for new music coming from The Chainsmokers throughout 2018.