Kygo Displays Artistic Maturity on Sophomore Album 'Kids In Love': Listen

Johannes Lovund

Kygo's highly anticipated sophomore album Kids In Love has arrived in full, at eight songs strong. The project leads with "Never Let You Go", a foot-stomping sing-along with a folksy melody -- led by John Newman, who adds extra rasp to the record. 

Fast forward to the producer's Oliver Nelson collaboration "Riding Shotgun," featuring Bonnie McKee, where listeners are transferred to a funky paradise accompanied by smooth basslines and fat snare hits. The mood turns solemn with the following track, "Stranger Things" featuring OneRepublic, which carries a lighthearted tropical melody that is closest to Kygo's foundational material.

While arguably one of project's furthest-traveling cuts from Kygo's initial releases, the album's title track embraces a timeless melody that you'd find on your go-to classic rock jam for the road. 

Kids In Love mixes a multitude of genres, but manages to encompass a cohesive body of work, which radiates with Kygo's signature sound.

Listen to the album below, and be sure to check out his upcoming tour dates