The Bloody Beetroots Aim to Reclaim Dance Music With 'The Great Electronic Swindle' Album

The Bloody Beetroots
Enrico Caputo CaroselloLab

The Bloody Beetroots

The Bloody Beetroots have announced their third studio album, The Great Electronic Swindle. The project encompasses 17 tracks and involves a multitude of features. 

"This is the first time I have used so many vocalists and lyrics in The Bloody Beetroots' music," says Sir Bob Cornelius Rifo of The Bloody Beetroots. "I chose the greatest vocalists I knew that could help tell the story of about four years of life."

He says the album's title is a tribute to the Sex Pistols and The Great Rock and Roll Swindle, a 1980 film directed by Julian Temple. "It was a sign of the end of an era. The end of Punk. I want to reclaim that for electronic music because the business squeezed the genre so much that they delivered the end of electronic music itself. We are living in a great electronic swindle," Rifo says. 

He continues, "People don't even realize who is the artist, the producer and who deserves to be called an artist in this genre...Dance music used the beat to draw people in. We use the 'four on the floor' kick in a similar way to bring people in and then expose to something with more substance. Similarly, the mask is a catalyst. To bring people in. Now there are many masks out there trying to do the same thing. This project is for the people and everybody can be part of TBB. I'm a little guy from a small town...I am part of the people and this is made for the people."

2017 marks The Bloody Beetroots' 10-year anniversary. The announcement of the album, due Oct. 20 on Last Gang Records, coincides with the announcement of the band's My Name Is Thunder live tour which will be the their first string of live shows in North America in over three years.

Fans can stream "Pirates, Punks & Politics" from the album, along with the official video for "My Name Is Thunder", below.

The Great Electronic Swindle track list:

1. My Name Is Thunder w/ JET
2. Wolfpack Ft. Maskarade
3. Nothing But Love Ft. Jay Buchanan
4. Pirates, Punks & Politics Ft. Perry Farrell
5. Invisible Ft. Greta Svabo Bech
6. All Black Everything Ft. Gallows
7. Irreversible Ft. Anders Friden
8. Enter The Void Ft. Eric Nally
9. Future Memories Ft. Crywolf
10. The Great Run Ft. Greta Svabo Bech
11.Kill or Be Killed Ft. Leafar Seyer 
12. Saint Bass City Rockers
13. Hollywood Surf Club Ft. Mr. Talkbox
14. The Day Of The Locust       
15. 10,000 Prophets                   
16. Drive Ft. Deap Vally
17. Crash Ft. Jason Aalon Butler

North American "My Name Is Thunder Tour" Dates:

10/27 Music Box - San Diego, CA
10/28 Independent - San Francisco, CA
10/29 The Fonda Theatre - Los Angeles, CA
10/31 The Depot - Salt Lake City, UT
11/2 Summit Music Hall - Denver, CO
11/4 First Avenue - Minneapolis, MN
11/5 Concord Music Hall - Chicago, IL
11/6 Magic Stick - Detroit, MI
11/7 Opera House - Toronto, ON
11/9 Warsaw - Brooklyn, NY