Anohni Announces Politically Charged EP 'Paradise'

Inez and Vinoodh


Anohni has announced her upcoming Paradise EP (coming March 17), a companion to last year's HOPELESSNESS.

Meant to support activism as well as challenge perceptions of pop music, Anohni approaches the record with moving intent and fervor -- never shying away from politicized themes and urgency.

"Our new leaders hope to crush our spirits and expedite ecocide in the name of virulent progress, consumerism and false security,” Anohni said in a statement. She later added, “But as Donald Trump and his cabinet now demonstrate, the skills encouraged in men by their biologies and the tools that boys master in the playground have not equipped them to deal with the unprecedented global crisis we are now facing.”

These sentiments are detailed in the title-track, her warped vocals revealing, “World without end/ Hopelessness/ Sinks into the earth” over a somber dance beat.

Paradise’s cover art -- depicting headshots of nine separate women -- “reflect the feminine oracle” from her HOPELESSNESS tour.

Anohni’s HOPELESSNESS made both Billboard’s Top 10 2016 Dance/Electronic and Rock/Alternative lists, as well as Billboard’s 50 Best Albums of 2016.

Hear “Paradise” and view the full track list below.

'Paradise' Track List

1. In My Dreams
2. Paradise
3. Jesus Will Kill You
4. You Are My Enemy
5. Ricochet
6. She Doesn’t Mourn Her Loss


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.