Sasha Announces New Album 'Scene Delete': 'It's Acting as a Split in My Career'

Courtesy Photo


The legendary dance producer dabbles in ambient and downtempo on the new 21-track offering.

Sasha has made a career out of crafting timeless club music, but now he’s taking a step in a lighter direction. The Welsh producer has announced a new downtempo album on critically-acclaimed compilation series Late Night Tales. Scene Delete, as the album is known, will contain 21 new original creations from Sasha in a style that he refers to as “unabashedly ambient.”

Exclusive: Sasha Premieres First Solo Material In 4 Years

It’s a definitive move for one of the reigning kings of progressive house, but one befitting of his creative process. “Whenever I’m in the studio and I’ve been working on techno or club music,” he says, “I immediately want to work on something more textural and ambient.” Over the years, he’s amassed countless of these left-field creations. It reached a boiling point last summer when he felt something needed to be done with all the material. “It just kept piling up,” he says. “I was thinking about releasing an album that had all my club records and my ambient stuff on it but it didn’t seem like it would fit together.”

The 25 Greatest Dance Clubs of All Time

Cue Late Night Tales, the independent mix platform that has played host to everyone from Four Tet to Arctic Monkeys over the years. Upon hearing Jon Hopkins’ recent contribution to the series, Sasha was inspired to send his new creations over. “I thought a lot of the music we’d been working on was in the same vibe,” he says. The response from the imprint was instantaneous, and Sasha signed on to complete a full album for the series.

Sailor & I Premieres Joris Voorn's Poignant 'Leave the Light On' Remix

After seven weeks in the studio spent polishing old material and writing new songs, Scene Delete was born. Spanning an hour and fifteen minutes of lush, organic compositions, it’s a delightful medium between a mix album and a traditional LP. The music draws on inspirations from artists like Nils Frahm and Brian Eno, as well as the late Susumu Yokota, whose seminal 1999 release Sakura Sasha cites as a primary influence.

Ultimately, the new album marks a turning point for Sasha. Having woven a storied path through the house and techno realm, Scene Delete is his chance to diverge. “I think this album is acting as a split in my career,” he says. “Before I was always trying to combine everything into one sound... this is going to be the split.” While he’s not leaving the club world behind in any sense, he hints at a larger vision at play: “Maybe take what I do in the studio with synthesizers and incorporate more of an orchestra in it...” For now, we’re more than content with the prospect of 21 new original songs from the veteran producer.

The 15 Greatest Dance Music Cities of All Time

Scene Delete will be out on Late Night Tales on April 1. In the meantime listen to a preview of the album with “View 2” and pre-order the album on iTunes.

Scene Delete Tracklist:

01. Channel deq

02. View2

03. Baracus

04. Linepulse

05. Time After Time

06. Detour

07. Pontiac

08. Cassette Sessions D

09. Cassette Sessions E

10. Healer

11. Modcon

12. Scarpa Falls

13. Warewolf

14. Bring on the Night-time feat. Ultraista

15. Corvette

16. Shelter

17. Untitled 3

18. Abacus

19. Rooms feat. John Graham

20. Broadcast

21. Vapour Trails