Here's How BTS Won Big at South Korea's 34th Golden Disc Awards

Noam Galai/Getty Images

BTS attend Dick Clark's New Year's Rockin' Eve With Ryan Seacrest 2020 on Dec. 31, 2019 in New York City. 

BTS made history this weekend, when the septet became the first-ever act to take home the grand prizes, aka daesang, in both the digital song and physical album categories at the 2020 Golden Disc Awards for “Boy with Luv” and Map of the Soul: Persona, respectively.

The Golden Disc Awards were first held in 1986, and have awarded South Korean musical talent annually. The digital song daesang became part of the show in 2006.

During his acceptance speech for album of the year, RM said, “Golden Disc Awards is our last awards show of the 2010s, as well as our first awards show of the 2020,” as per Soompi’s translation.

“This is all thanks to our fans. Thank you. Last year was such a happy year. We worked hard, and we also rested. I remember when I first met producer Bang Si-hyuk in the spring of 2010. Since then, for the past 10 years, our 2010s were filled to the brim with the name BTS. In the 2020s, we hope that by our side, that space will be filled to the brim with ARMY. We will write this book in your name.”

Held at the Gocheok Sky Dome in Seoul over Saturday and Sunday (Jan. 4-5), BTS won numerous awards alongside the top prizes of the year, including the main album prize, which nine other artists (NCT Dream, TWICE, Seventeen, EXO's Baekhyun, EXO-SC, Monsta X, GOT7, NU'EST, and Super Junior) also won.

Additionally, BTS won the digital song bonsang, along with BLACKPINK's Jennie, Chung Ha, Paul Kim, AKMU, TWICE, MC the Max, Taeyeon, Jannabi, and Itzy.

Mamamoo were named the best group of the year, and Bang Si-hyuk, while Hwasa of that team was named best solo artist of the year. The founder of BTS’ Big Hit Entertainment, was named producer of the year. 

Other awards given out during the two-day event included:

Best performance: (G)I-DLE, ASTRO

Best new artist: TXT, ITZY

Best R&B/hip-hop: Block B’s Zico

Best trot: Song Ga In

Next generation award: Kim Jae Hwan, AB6IX, ATEEZ

K-Pop Star Award: BTS

Best original soundtrack song: Gummy

Cosmopolitan artist award: TWICE, NU’EST

TikTok Golden Disc popularity award: BTS