Shawn Mendes, Kacey Musgraves & More Added to 2021 MTV VMAs Performance Lineup

Shawn Mendes
Connor Brashier*

Shawn Mendes

Twenty One Pilots and Chlöe (of Chlöe x Halle) were also added. Chlöe will make her solo debut.

Shawn MendesKacey MusgravesDoja CatChlöe and Twenty One Pilots have been added to the performance lineup for the 2021 MTV Music Video Awards, the network announced this week. In addition, Doja Cat has been named this year’s host.  

The acts will join Olivia Rodrigo, Lorde, Machine Gun Kelly, Lil Nas X, Foo Fighters and Camila Cabello as performers when this year’s VMAs air live on Sept. 12 from the Barclays Center in Brooklyn. 

Announced by MTV on Thursday (Aug. 26), Musgraves is the latest addition to the list of performers. The “Butterflies” singer will grace the VMAs stage for the first time with a performance of “star-crossed,” the lead single from her upcoming album of the same name, out Sept. 10. 

The music channel also revealed that Musgraves’ music video for “justified” is scheduled to premiere on Thursday at 9 p.m. PT/6 p.m. ET exclusively on MTV and CMT as well as on the ViacomCBS Times Square billboard.   

Chlöe -- who is half of Chlöe x Halle -- will make her solo debut with the TV premiere of “Have Mercy” from her upcoming album. Her set is a follow-up to last year’s VMA pre-show performance by Chlöe x Halle, in which the sisters sang a sparkly rendition  of “Ungodly Hour.” 

Following Doja Cat’s space-themed mash-up of “Say So” and “Like That” during the 2020 VMAs, the pop star will return to this year’s show to both host and perform. The singer is nominated for five awards, including artist of the year and video of the year for her SZA collab “Kiss Me More.”  

After winning best collaboration with Cabello for “Señorita” in 2019, Mendes, who is up for best pop, will sing his latest release "Summer of Love."   

With alt-rock on the rise, Twenty One Pilots are scheduled to perform their latest track “Saturday." They are also nominated for best alternative.   

The 2021 VMAs will be executive produced by Bruce Gilmer and Jesse Ignjatovic, co-founder of Den of Thieves. The event will be broadcast live from the Barclays Center on Sept. 12 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on MTV.   

Fans can vote for their favorite artists on until Sept. 3.     

UPDATE: This story was updated on Thursday (Aug. 26) to add Musgraves to the performer list.