Demi Lovato, H.E.R. & Brandi Carlile to Pay Tribute to Elton John on 2021 iHeartRadio Music Awards

Elton John
Kevin Winter/Getty Images for iHeartMedia

Elton John performs live on stage at iHeartRadio ICONS with Elton John: Celebrating The Launch Of Elton John’s Autobiography, "Me" at the iHeartRadio Theater Los Angeles on Oct. 16, 2019.

Chris Martin and Lil Nas X will present John with the iHeartRadio Icon Award.

Three varied singers -- Brandi Carlile, Demi Lovato and H.E.R. -- will perform during a special tribute honoring Elton John at the 2021 iHeartRadio Music Awards, which will air live from The Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles on Thursday (May 27).

Chris Martin and Lil Nas X will present John with the iHeartRadio Icon Award, which honors John’s global impact on pop culture, longevity and continued relevance as a touring and radio force.

The three singers chosen to perform during the tribute each reflect an aspect of John’s varied musical personality. John is the second recipient of this award, following Bon Jovi three years ago. John and H.E.R. are co-writers of the two most recent Oscar-winners for best original song. John won his second Oscar in 2020 for co-writing "(I'm  Gonna) Love Me Again" from Rocketman. H.E.R. won her first this year for co-writing "Fight For You" from Judas and the Black Messiah.

Usher will host this year’s iHeartRadio Music Awards, and will also perform. The show will also feature previously announced performances from The Weeknd with special guest Ariana Grande, Silk Sonic (Bruno Mars & Anderson .Paak), Dan + Shay and Doja Cat.

In addition, the event will feature special appearances from LL Cool J, Nelly, Machine Gun Kelly, French Montana, Lil Jon, Robin Thicke, Joel McHale, Oliver Stark, Ryan Guzman, Gabby Barrett, Ava Max, Raphael Saadiq and AJR, plus previously announced appearances from Taylor Swift, Dua Lipa, Roddy Ricch, Twenty One Pilots and Megan Thee Stallion.

The event will air live on FOX on Thursday, May 27, from 8-10 p.m. (live ET, tape-delayed PT). The event also will air live on iHeartMedia radio stations nationwide and on the iHeartRadio app.

In a unique twist, winners in four categories will be revealed (and give an acceptance speech) on FOX shows on Thursday in the 9 a.m. hour across the four time zones. Those four categories are country album of the year, country song of the year, dance album of the year and the social star award. Winners will also be revealed on iHeartMedia’s radio stations and socials following FOX.

The iHeartRadio Music Awards celebrate the most-played artists and songs on iHeartRadio stations and the iHeartRadio app throughout 2020. Nominations are based on consumption data, including streaming, album sales, song sales and radio airplay.

Fan voting will determine this year’s best fan army, best lyrics, best cover song, best music video, the social star award, favorite music video choreography award and the first-ever TikTok bop of the year award.

Executive producers for the iHeartRadio Music Awards are Joel Gallen for Tenth Planet and John Sykes, Tom Poleman and Bart Peters for iHeartMedia.