Oscar-Winning 'Soul' Score Among Top Honorees at 2021 ASCAP Screen Music Awards

Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures / Courtesy Everett Collection


ASCAP unveiled two new Composers' Choice categories this year -- documentary score of the year and television theme of the year.

Jon Batiste and Trent Reznor will have to find more room in their already-crowded trophy cases for another award for their acclaimed score for the Disney/Pixar film, Soul, which ASCAP's Composers' Choice film score of the year at the 2021 ASCAP Screen Music Awards. (Atticus Ross, who also collaborated on the score, is not an ASCAP writer.) The score had already won an Oscar, Golden Globe and BAFTA Film Award, among others.

The 2021 ASCAP Screen Music Awards kick off Monday (May 17) at 12 p.m. ET on @ASCAP and @ASCAPScreen Instagram with the reveal of this year’s ASCAP Composers’ Choice Awards, which are chosen by the ASCAP composer and songwriter community. The social media celebration continues through Thursday, May 20.

Paul Williams, ASCAP president and chairman, will kick off the event with a video introduction.

ASCAP unveiled two new Composers' Choice categories this year -- documentary score of the year and television theme of the year. Another category was renamed: TV composer of the year becomes television score of the year.

Here are this year’s Composers' Choice winners:

Film score of the year: Soul - Jon Batiste & Trent Reznor

Documentary score of the year: David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet - Steven Price

Television score of the year: Lovecraft Country - Raphael Saadiq

Television theme of the year: Tales from the Loop - Philip Glass & Paul Leonard-Morgan

Video game score of the year: The Last of Us Part II - Gustavo Santaolalla

The Instagram reveal will include both acceptances and performances from Batiste, Leonard-Morgan and Santaolalla and acceptances from Price and Glass.

In other categories, David Vanacore was the top winner for most performed themes and underscore for his work on shows including Survivor and Biggest Loser; Bear McCreary took top cable television series for HBO’s critically acclaimed The Walking Dead; Matthew Hawkins, Maurice “m.O” Jackson and Neil Martin won top network television series for their main theme for CBS's  long-running NCIS; and Rupert Gregson-Williams received the top box office film honor for The Eight Hundred.

This year’s ASCAP Screen Music Awards also includes winners in a new category, top streaming films, and an expanded number of awards presented for streaming series.

Some of the video acceptances are lighthearted. David Schweitzer (a top box office film winner for Emma. with co-writer Isobel Waller-Bridge) introduces his family chickens. Lenny Pickett (a top-rated television series winner for Saturday Night Live with co-writer Howard Shore) shares a brief sax solo. Michelle Lewis (a top rated television series winner for The Loud House) sings a short song about her award.

Studio geeks may also be impressed by a tour of Studio Ferber in Paris where Lionel Limiñana and co-writer David Menke composed the score for Last Days of American Crime, which wins as top streaming film.

Fans can follow the rollout under the hashtag #ASCAPAwards on ASCAP’s Facebook, Twitter, and on Instagram @ASCAP and @ASCAPScreen.

A full list of 2021 ASCAP Screen Music Awards winners is available at