Earth, Wind & Fire, Ludacris & More to Be Honored at 2nd 'Saluting Our Culture' Virtual Event

Sly Stone, Earth, Wind & Fire, Darlene Love, Ludacris, Patrice Rushen and Dr. Bobby Jones
Courtesy of Miles Ahead Entertainment

(L-R): Sly Stone, Earth, Wind & Fire, Darlene Love, Ludacris, Patrice Rushen and Dr. Bobby Jones.

On June 6, Café Mocha Radio will stream their 2021 Salute THEM Awards show. The ceremony will honor individuals selected by Café Mocha in the areas of music, television, film, fashion and dance. The honorees are Sly Stone, June Ambrose, Jamal Josef, Earth, Wind & Fire, Bille Woodruff, Dr. Bobby Jones, Patrice Rushen, Ludacris and Darlene Love.

The Salute THEM Awards will be co-hosted by Yo-Yo, Café Mocha Radio host and Grammy-nominated rapper, and Broadway actor Saint Aubyn (Ain't Too Proud). It will stream from the new National Museum of African American Music (NMAAM) in Nashville, taking attendees on a historical journey of Black music curated by the museum.

In celebration of Black Music Month, the event will be the second show in Café Mocha's "Saluting Our Culture" series. The series recognizes the influence and contributions of the Black community, especially in the areas of arts and culture.

Last month, they streamed their Salute HER Awards which honored Black women from various industries. The honorees were immunologist Dr. Kizzmekia Corbett; author Denene Millner; Melanie Campbell, president/CEO of the National Coalition on Black Civic Participation; professional moderator Latosha Brown; restaurateur Pinky Cole; actress Holly Robinson Peete; and Cynthia Erivo, Tony, Grammy and Emmy winner.

According to their website, "Café Mocha is 'radio from a woman's perspective' and the only nationally syndicated show dedicated to women of color. The show’s mission is to create an empowering experience for women via a 360° multi-media approach that includes the radio show, events, digital and social media activations."

Presented by AARP and Toyota, the upcoming ceremony will feature music tributes. It will benefit the Mocha Cares Foundation, supporting housing and services to combat homelessness and domestic violence through mentorship programs.

"Café Mocha is ecstatic to pay homage to this year’s honorees, who collectively exemplify a body of creative forces from legendary musical treasures to the architects of contemporary music today," says Sheila Eldridge, Café Mocha creator and executive producer.

The awards will stream via at 7 p.m. ET. Registration is required here.