Canada Issues Postage Stamp to Salute 50 Years of Juno Awards

Courtesy Photo

To mark their anniversary, the Junos also released a list of the 100 acts with the most Juno Awards. Anne Murray leads with 25.

Canada Post, the Canadian post office, is celebrating the Juno Awards’ golden anniversary with a new commemorative stamp.

Designed by Paprika and illustrated by Amanda Arlotta, the stamp features the new golden statuette that Juno Award winners will begin receiving this year. The award’s old design was a solid crystal tower.

“We are thrilled to partner with Canada Post to celebrate the 50th Annual Juno Awards,” said Allan Reid, president and CEO, CARAS/The Juno Awards and MusiCounts. “…Our new golden statuette will stand proud on the limited-edition stamp and we can’t wait for music lovers across the country to get their hands on one.”

(CARAS stands for Canadian Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences. The name is similar to the Recording Academy's former name, NARAS -- National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences. MusiCounts is the Junos' music education charity.)

The Weeknd is this year's top Juno nominee, with six nods, including artist, single, album and songwriter of the year. The Tragically Hip are slated to receive the Juno Humanitarian Award. Jann Arden will be inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame.

The first Junos ceremony was held on Feb. 23, 1970, when the awards were known as the RPM Gold Leaf Awards. The awards were renamed in 1971 in honor of Pierre Juneau, first chair of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC).

The Junos went on a one-year hiatus in 1988. Also, last year’s ceremony was virtual, due to the pandemic. So this year’s show will be the 50th live ceremony.  Categories will be presented and televised from a variety of music venues throughout Canada.

This year's Juno Awards will be broadcast throughout Canada on Sunday June 6. The ceremony was originally scheduled to take place in March, but in December 2020 organizers announced that it was being pushed back to May 16. On Wednesday (April 14),  it was pushed back again to June due to "an abundance of caution in response to the evolving COVID-19 pandemic." The show will air on CBC TV, CBC Gem, CBC Radio One, CBC Music and globally on

To mark their 50th anniversary, the Junos also released a list of the 100 acts with the most Juno Awards. Anne Murray leads the list with 25, followed by Céline Dion and Bryan Adams, who are tied with 20 each, and Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, The Tragically Hip and Gordon Lightfoot, with 17 each.

Dion leads in terms of most Juno nominations (75), followed by Adams (63), Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal (56), Murray (52) and The Tragically Hip (43).

2021 Super Bowl Halftime Show: The Weeknd Performs Medley of Hits | Billboard News