Kevin Parker, Amy Shark Lead 2021 APRA Award Nominations

Kevin Parker, Tame Impala
Victor Lerena/EPA-EFE/Shutterstock

Kevin Parker of Tame Impala at Mad Cool Festival in Madrid, Spain on July 12, 2018.

Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker will square off with Amy Shark, Guy Sebastian and others for the song of the year title at the 2021 APRA Awards, slated to take place April 28 in Sydney.

The peer-voted song of the year category is considered one of the top honors an Australian songwriter can add to their collection.

Parker scores a nomination for Tame Impala’s “Lost In Yesterday,” while Shark’s “Everybody Rise” (co-written with Joel Little) extends her streak of nominations in the category to five years, a stretch that includes a circular trophy in 2019.

Also up for song of the year is playwright, comedian and singer-songwriter Tim Minchin’s “Carry You”; Guy Sebastian’s “Standing With You”; and “Gadigal Land,” written by songwriters Rob Hirst, Bunna Lawrie and Gadigal poet Joel Davison, for the chart-topping Midnight Oil album of the same name.

Parker, Shark and Sebastian head into the ceremony with multiple nominations, as do Tones And I, The Rubens, INXS' Andrew Farriss, Flume featuring Vera Blue, Dean Lewis, Miiesha and Lime Cordiale.

This time around, Mallrat (real name Grace Shaw) and The Kid LAROI are among the 49 Australian songwriters who’ve earned their first ever APRA Music Awards nominations, announced Tuesday (March 30).

Following a virtual edition held during the peak of the pandemic, this year’s edition of the APRA Music Awards will return as a live industry event.

As previously reported, Helen Reddy, the late singer, songwriter and activist whose 1972 hit “I Am Woman” became a feminist anthem, will be honored with the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

Reddy, who passed away in September, aged 78, will be the first of two recipients on the night, with the second winner to be announced in April, ahead of the annual gala.

In another change from regular programming, highlights from the ceremony will stream on the night from the APRA AMCOS official YouTube page.

Julia Zemiro, Ziggy Ramo and Georgia Mooney will host the 2021 APRAs from the International Convention Centre Grand Ballroom on Darling Harbour.

Visit for the full list of nominations.