CMT Reveals Video of the Year Finalists for 2020 CMT Music Awards: Who Made the Cut? Who Didn’t?

Keith Urban
Kevin Mazur/Getty Images for CMT

Keith Urban performs at the 2019 CMT Music Awards at Bridgestone Arena on June 5, 2019 in Nashville.

Shania Twain will be making her first appearance on the CMT stage since 2011.

Carrie Underwood, a seven-time winner in the video of the year category at the CMT Music Awards, and Keith Urban, a three-time winner in the category, are still in the running for this year’s award after fans winnowed a preliminary field of 14 semifinalists down to six finalists.

Here are the finalists for video of the year, which were announced Monday (Oct. 12):

Carrie Underwood, “Drinking Alone”

Keith Urban, “Polaroid”

Kelsea Ballerini, “homecoming queen?”

Luke Combs, “Beer Never Broke My Heart”

Miranda Lambert, “Bluebird”

Tanya Tucker, “Bring My Flowers Now”

Combs performed "Beer Never Broke My Heart" on last year's CMT Music Awards. (See video below.)

Combs is also slated to perform on this year's show, in tandem with Brooks & Dunn. Ballerini is slated to perform this year alongside Halsey.

Here are the eight semifinalists for video of the year at the CMT Music Awards that did not advance to the finals: Ashley McBryde, “One Night Standards”; Blanco Brown, “The Git Up”; Dan + Shay, “I Should Probably Go to Bed"; Little Big Town, “Sugar Coat”; Old Dominion, “Some People Do”; Sam Hunt, “Hard to Forget”; The Chicks, “Gaslighter”; and Thomas Rhett, “Remember You Young.”

Three of the acts that failed to move up at the CMT Music Awards -- McBryde, Dan + Shay and Little Big Town -- are slated to perform on the show, which will air Oct. 21 at 8 p.m. ET on CMT, MTV, MTV2, Logo, Paramount Network, Pop and TV Land.

Kane Brown, McBryde and actress Sarah Hyland are set to co-host this year’s show. Brown will also perform on the show, as will Luke Bryan, Maren Morris and more artists to be announced.

Update:  Newly announced performers are Gabby Barrett, Morgan Wallen, Sam Hunt and Shania Twain, who will be making her first appearance on the CMT stage since 2011. Additionally, the show will feature three collaborations -- Jimmie Allen + Noah Cyrus and the aforementioned Ballerini + Halsey and and Combs + Brooks & Dunn.

On Oct. 16, CMT announced that presenters will include Tucker, Brandi Carlile and former country star (and three-time CMT video of the year winner) Taylor Swift, as well as a surprising number of non-country names -- Demi Lovato, Diplo, Idina Menzel, Jessica Chastain, Katy Perry, Kelly Clarkson and Rob Thomas.

In addition, Caylee Hammack, HARDY, Ingrid Andress, Mickey Guyton, Riley Green and Travis Denning will make their debuts on the Ram Trucks Side Stage.

Voting for video of the year will remain open until the show is in progress. Fans can vote at The CMT Music Awards bill themselves as "country music's only entirely fan-voted show."

Luke Combs Performs 'Beer Never Broke My Heart' at the 2019 CMT Music Awards