Hildur Gudnadóttir & Kathryn Bostic Are Double Nominees at Society of Composers & Lyricists' First SCL Awards

Hildur Guðnadóttir
Amy Sussman/Getty Images

Hildur Guðnadóttir attends the 2019 Creative Arts Emmy Awards on Sept. 15, 2019 in Los Angeles.

Hildur Gudnadóttir and Kathryn Bostic each received two nominations at the inaugural SCL Awards, presented by the Society of Composers & Lyricists. Hildur is nominated for her scores for the feature film Joker and HBO's Chernobyl. Bostic has two nominations for her music to Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am.   

The inaugural event will take place Jan. 7, 2020, at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles. Awards will be presented in five competitive categories. The voting period runs from Dec. 12 to Jan. 3, 2020.  

The SCL will also present their spirit of collaboration award to composer Thomas Newman and director Sam Mendes. (Their current collaboration, 1917, wasn't completed in time for submission for this year's awards.)

Alan Menken, who is nominated for outstanding original song for visual media for co-writing "Speechless" from Aladdin, will receive the SCL's sixth lifetime achievement award at a separate holiday event in Los Angeles.

Here are the inaugural SCL nominees.

Outstanding original score for a studio film
Michael Abels – Us  
Michael Giacchino – Jojo Rabbit  
Hildur Gudnadóttir – Joker
John Powell – How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
Alan Silvestri – Avengers: Endgame

Outstanding original score for an independent film:
Jeff Beal – The Biggest Little Farm
Kathryn Bostic – Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am
Alberto Iglesias – Pain and Glory
Howard Shore –  The Song of Names
Gabriel Yared – Judy

Outstanding original score for television or streaming production
Kris Bowers – When They See Us
Nicholas Britell – Succession
Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein – Stranger Things
Hildur Gudnadóttir – Chernobyl
Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross – Watchmen
Adam Taylor – The Handmaid's Tale

Outstanding original song for visual media
Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez –  “Into the Unknown” from Frozen 2
Kathryn Bostic – “High Above the Water” from Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am
Cynthia Erivo and Joshuah Brian Campbell – “Stand Up” from Harriet
Justin Paul, Benj Pasek and Alan Menken – “Speechless” from Aladdin
Diane Warren -  “I’m Standing with You” from Breakthrough

Outstanding original score for interactive media Neal
Acree – Rend
Gordy Haab and Stephen Barton – Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order
Austin Wintory – Erica


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.