Taylor Swift, Paul McCartney & All the Songwriters With 4 or More Grammy Nods for Song of the Year

Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift attends the 2019 American Music Awards at Microsoft Theater on Nov. 24, 2019 in Los Angeles.

Billy Joel was the sole writer of all four of his nominated songs.

Taylor Swift probably had mixed feelings when the nominations for the 62nd annual Grammy Awards were announced on Nov. 20. She received three nods, compared to seven the year 1989 was in contention. On the upside, she was nominated for song of the year for "Lover." It's Swift's fourth song of the year nomination, which puts her in elite company. Just 13 songwriters or songwriting teams have amassed four or more song of the year nominations. Here's a complete list.

Paul McCartney, 6. The Brit was credited alongside John Lennon on "A Hard Day's Night" (1964), "Yesterday" (1965), "Michelle" (1966), "Hey Jude" (1968) and "Let It Be" (1970). He wrote "Ebony and Ivory" (1982) by himself. "Michelle" won, though it is seen today as a trifle compared to these other Beatles classics.

Lionel Richie, 6. Richie was the sole writer of five of his six song of the year nominees: "Three Times a Lady" (1978), "Lady" (1980), "Endless Love" (1981), "All Night Long (All Night)" (1983) and "Hello" (1984). He teamed with Michael Jackson to write "We Are the World" (1985). The latter song, which raised money and consciousness about world hunger, won. (It was the first Grammy song of the year winner written by African-American songwriters.)

Burt Bacharach, 5. Bacharach teamed with Hal David to write "Wives and Lovers" (1963), "I'll Never Fall in Love Again" (1969) and "Raindrops Keep Fallin' on My Head" (also 1969). He teamed with Christopher Cross, Carole Bayer Sager and Peter Allen on "Arthur's Theme (Best That You Can Do)" (1981) and with Sager on "That's What Friends Are For" (1986). The latter song, which raised money and consciousness about AIDS, won.

John Lennon, 5. The Brit was credited alongside McCartney on the five aforementioned Beatles hits. Lennon was killed in 1980.

Alan & Marilyn Bergman, 4. The husband-and-wife lyric-writing team joined forces with different composers on each of their nominated songs. They teamed with Lew Spence on "Nice 'n' Easy" (1960), Michel Legrand on "The Summer Knows (Theme from Summer of 42)" (1972), Marvin Hamlisch on "The Way We Were" (1974) and Neil Diamond on "You Don't Bring Me Flowers" (1978). "The Way We Were," a standard virtually from the moment Barbra Streisand introduced it in the film of the same name, won.

Sammy Cahn & Jimmy Van Heusen, 4. The pair co-wrote "High Hopes" (1959), "The Second Time Around" (1960), "Call Me Irresponsible" (1963) and "September of My Years" (1965). None of these songs won, though "High Hopes" and "Call Me Irresponsible" won Academy Awards. (The pair won a third Oscar for "All the Way," which was released in 1957, the year before the launch of the Grammys.) Van Heusen died in 1990. Cahn died three years later.

Will Jennings, 4. Jennings teamed with a different partner to write each of his four nominees. He teamed with Steve Winwood on "Higher Love" (1986), Michael Masser on "Didn't We Almost Have It All" (1987), Eric Clapton on "Tears in Heaven" (1992), and James Horner on "My Heart Will Go On (Love Theme from Titanic)" (1998). "Tears in Heaven" and "My Heart Will Go On," both written for films, won.

Billy Joel, 4. Joel was the sole writer of all four of his nominated songs: "Just the Way You Are" (1978), "Honesty" (1979), "We Didn't Start the Fire" (1989) and "The River of Dreams" (1993). "Just the Way You Are," an instant standard that was covered by everyone from Barry White to Dolores Hope, won.

Bruno Mars & Philip Lawrence, 4. Mars and Lawrence teamed with Christopher Brody Brown, Cee Lo Green and Ari Levine to write "F*** You" (2010); with Brown, Claude Kelly, Levine and Andrew Wyatt on "Grenade" (2011); with Levine on "Locked Out of Heaven" (2013); and with Brown, James Fauntleroy, Ray Charles McCullough II, Jeremy Reeves, Ray Romulus and Jonathan Yip on "That's What I Like" (2017). The featherweight "That's What I Like" won, setting a new record as the Grammy-winning song of the year with the most co-writers (eight).

Max Martin, 4. The Swede teamed with Andreas Carlsson on "I Want It That Way" (1999); with Lukasz Gottwald (Dr. Luke), Bonnie McKee, Katy Perry & Henry Walter (Cirkut) on "Roar" (2013); and with Shellback and Swift on "Shake It Off" (2014) and "Blank Space" (2015). None of these songs won.

Sting, 4. The Brit was the sole writer of three of his four nominated songs: "Every Breath You Take" (1983), "Be Still My Beating Heart" (1988) and "If I Ever Lose My Faith in You" (1993). He teamed with Mark Knopfler on "Money for Nothing" (1985). "Every Breath You Take" won, beating a pair of Jackson songs in the year of Thriller. (Sting and The Police handed Jackson his only losses that year, not counting one category where Jackson lost to himself.)

Taylor Swift, 4. Swift teamed with Liz Rose on "You Belong With Me" (2009) and with Martin and Shellback on "Shake It Off" (2014) and "Blank Space" (2015). She wrote "Lover" (2019) by herself. Swift has yet to win in this category. We'll find out if she wins this time around on Jan. 26, when the 62nd annual Grammy Awards are presented at Staples Center in Los Angeles.

U2, 4. The Irish band wrote "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For" (1987), "Beautiful Day" (2000), "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of" (2001) and "Sometimes You Can't Make It on Your Own" (2005). "Beautiful Day" and "Sometimes You Can't Make It on Your Own" won.

2020 Grammy Awards