Miranda Lambert's 'The House That Built Me' Named 'Song of the Decade' by ACM

Miranda Lambert
Ben Tusi

Miranda Lambert

In choosing "House," written by Tom Douglas & Allen Shamblin, the Academy of Country Music bypassed its other song of the year recipients from this decade -- including three Lambert co-wrote.

What's the country song of the decade? According to the Academy of Country Music, it's "The House That Built Me," which Tom Douglas and Allen Shamblin co-wrote and Miranda Lambert recorded for her 2009 album, Revolution. The ACM gave all three principals a song of the decade award, as part of a planned series of ACM decade awards.

At the 46th annual ACM Awards on April 3, 2011, "The House That Built Me" won awards for single record, song and video of the year.

"The House That Built Me" also won song of the year at that year's CMA Awards. At the Grammy Awards, it was nominated for best country song and for the all-genre song of the year award. It lost in both categories to another country crossover smash: Lady Antebellum's "Need You Now."

Lambert's recording of "The House That Built Me" was No. 1 on Billboard's Hot Country Songs chart for four weeks. It reached No. 28 on the Billboard Hot 100.

In choosing "The House That Built Me" as song of the decade, the ACM bypassed its other song of the year recipients from this decade, including three that Lambert co-wrote: "Over You" (2012), "Automatic" (2014) and "Tin Man" (2017).

Other ACM song of the year winners from the decade -- which were presumably also considered for the honor -- include Eli Young Band's "Crazy Girl" (2011), Lee Brice's "I Drive Your Truck" (2013), Chris Stapleton's "Nobody to Blame" (2015), Thomas Rhett's "Die a Happy Man" (2016) and Dan + Shay's "Tequila" (2018).

The other planned ACM decade award categories are album of the decade, single of the decade, breakout artist of the decade, music event of the decade, songwriter of the decade and artist-songwriter of the decade. They will be announced "in the coming weeks" -- which coincides with the walk-up period to the 53rd annual CMA Awards.

The ACM kicked off its decade retrospective awards in April, when it gave Jason Aldean the ACM Dick Clark artist of the decade award.

Getty Images/John Shearer/Courtesy of the Academy of Country Music
Chuck Aly, ACM Vice President and Special Awards Committee Co-Chair; RAC Clark, Interim ACM Executive Director; Allen Shamblin, Songwriter; Miranda Lambert; Tom Douglas, Songwriter; Lori Badgett ACM President; Ed Warm, ACM Chairman.