Shawn Mendes, Drake Lead 2018 iHeartRadio Much Music Video Awards Nominees

Shawn Mendes
O'CONNOR/AFP/Getty Images

Shawn Mendes attends the 2018 Billboard Music Awards 2018 at the MGM Grand Resort International on May 20, 2018 in Las Vegas.

Mendes has eight and Drake is just behind with seven.

Shawn Mendes has a field-leading eight nominations for the 2018 iHeartRadio Much Music Video Awards, which were announced on Wednesday morning (Aug. 1). Right behind Mendes -- who will also perform on the Aug. 26 show -- is Drake with seven nominations. and another MMVA performer and last year's co-host, Alessia Cara, with five, including best pop artist or group, fan fave artist and fan fave video.

Former host Ed Sheeran and DJ Marshmello each got four noms, with Halsey scooping up three for best pop artist or group, fan fave artist and video of the year for "Bad at Love." Two performers will make their MMVA performance debut on the show, Kris Wu -- up for fan fave new artist -- and Meghan Trainor, who will perform and also earned noms for best pop artist or group. 5 Seconds of Summer will also play the show and be in the mix for the fan fave group or duo.

The 2018 MMVAs will be hosted by Awkwafina and air on Much, CTV, CTV Go, MTV, the iHeartRadio app and a number of Virgin Radio stations on Aug. 26 at 9 p.m. ET.

The 2018 iHeartRadio Much Music Video Awards nominees:

Video of the Year

Shawn Mendes, "In My Blood"

Halsey, "Bad at Love"

Childish Gambino, "This is America"

Ariana Grande, "No Tears Left to Cry"

Logic ft. Alessia Cara & Khalid, "1.800.273.8255"

Drake, "God's Plan"

Best EDM/Dance Artist or Group

Sofi Tukker

Loud Luxury

Calvin Harris




Best Pop Artist or Group

Meghan Trainor

Shawn Mendes

Ed Sheeran


Alessia Cara

Camila Cabello

Best Rock/Alternative Artist or Group

Imagine Dragons


Arcade Fire

Portugal. The Man

Foo Fighters


Best Hip-Hop Artist or Group

The Carters


Post Malone

Cardi B

Kendrick Lamar

Childish Gambino

Artist of the Year

Cardi B


Camila Cabello

Ed Sheeran

Shawn Mendes

Post Malone

Click here for the full list of nominees.