Coldplay Teases 'Music of the Spheres' Release With Mysterious Lyrics Billboard

James Marcus Haney*


Coldplay is gearing up to release its ninth studio album, Music of the Spheres, on Friday (Oct. 15). To build anticipation, the band placed a billboard to tease their upcoming record -- much like Drake and Adele's recent promotional moves -- in London with lyrics from "Biutyful," the eighth track from the album.

A Coldplay fan account posted the billboard to Twitter and shared a picture of the display located in Westfield Shepherd's Bush, London. The billboard contains a neon version of planet Earth, which was recently featured in a teaser video with a snippet from their upcoming collaboration with Selena Gomez, "Let Somebody Go." The band is also promoting the release of Music of the Spheres with a two-day immersive event in collaboration with Amazon Music entitled "The Atmospheres."

"All I know is I love you so/ I hope you get everything you want in this biutyful life/ Change for your pocket, someone for the night/ I hope they name you a rocket and take you on a ride for free/ And if they tell you you're nothing, maybe you'd explain/ To me you're the summer sun after rain," lyrics from the billboard reads.

Music of the Spheres already has a No. 1 single under its belt -- "My Universe," Coldplay's collaboration featuring K-pop superstars BTS, hit the top spot on the Billboard Hot 100. The single marked the British rock band's first No. 1 hit since 2008's "Viva La Vida" and gave both groups appearances on the Rock & Alternative Airplay and Alternative Airplay charts, reaching the No. 20 and No. 23 spots, respectively.

Music of the Spheres will be released on Friday, Oct. 15 via Parlophone and Atlantic Records. See the billboard below.