Jimmy Page Honored At Mojo Awards

Kasabian, Florence Lead Mercury Prize Nominations

Kasabian, Florence Lead Mercury Prize Nominations

Led Zeppelin's Jimmy Page was inducted into the Mojo hall of fame at a ceremony in London.

The honor, supported by Universal Catalog Marketing, was presented at the Mojo Honours List ceremony at the Brewery venue in London last night (June 10).

Duane Eddy also attended the seventh edition of the awards by the monthly music magazine. He won the Mojo icon award. But Julian Cope failed to show for the ceremony, despite his former band Teardrop Explodes winning the Mojo inspiration award (supported by HMV).

The Stone Roses' self-titled 1989 debut was named classic album, prompting Mani from the band to thank Margaret Thatcher for ensuring he was out of work in the '80s and on the dole, so that he could focus on music.

Jean Michel Jarre won the Mojo lifetime achievement award (supported by Sony Commercial Music Group), suggesting perhaps that Mojo is running out of rock music legends to honor. Antony Hegarty of Antony and the Johnsons traveled from New York to present the hero award to former Soft Cell frontman Marc Almond. Almond has just released "Variete" (Cherry Red Records), his first collection of self-penned songs in over a decade.

Radiohead's Phil Selway presented Sigur Ros with the award for outstanding contribution to music.

Mute Records founder Daniel Miller was presented with the Mojo medal by Depeche Mode's Andrew Fletcher and Erasure's Andy Bell - both long-term Mute artists.

Although Mojo focuses on heritage acts, there were also publicly voted contemporary awards categories. U.K. rock act Kasabian received their first Mojo award, winning the Mojo song of the year award for "Fire" (Columbia).

Richard Hawley's Mute/EMI set "Truelove's Gutter" beat Kasabian, Joanna Newsom, Florence and the Machine and Paul Weller to the best album award. Midlake won in the live category, while the Low Anthem was named the Mojo breakthrough act.

Florence and the Machine had four nominations but left empty-handed. The Island debut "Lungs" has now topped a million sales in the U.K., according to the Official Charts Co.

The Platipus Records release that won the public vote in the best compilation category surely has one of the best album titles of recent times: "A Monstrous Psychedelic Bubble Exploding in Your Mind Volume 2 - Pagan Love Vibrations Compiled and Mixed by the Amorphous Androgynous."

Hawkwind picked up the maverick award and Devo won the Mojo merit award, on the eve of the release of new album "Something for Everybody."

The Beatles' entire remastered body of work was awarded the Mojo catalogue release Of the year, supported by HMV.

Other winners: the late Kate McGarrigle and Anna McGarrigle (Mojo roots award), Roy Wood (classic songwriter) and Richard Thompson (Mojo Les Paul award presented by Gibson Guitars).

The acclaimed documentary feature "Oil City Confidential" about U.K. pre-punk act Dr. Feelgood won the Mojo vision award. Director Julien Temple and Wilko Johnson from the band collected the award.