Linkin Park to Release New Album, 'A Thousand Suns,' Sept. 14

Linkin Park will release its new album "A Thousand Suns" (Machine Shop Recordings/Warner Bros.) on Sept. 14, the band announced today on its official website. The album's first single, "The Catalyst," debuts at radio and on iTunes Aug. 2.

Super-producer Rick Rubin and frontman Mike Shinoda teamed up again to co-produce "A Thousand Suns" after working together on Linkin Park's last album, 2007's "Minutes to Midnight." The band will launch a contest through its MySpace page to help promote the release, allowing fans to record their own songs using Linkin Park audio stems for the chance to appear on the new album.

"Our albums are the foundation of who we are as a band, and reserving a spot for a fan to play on one of our songs felt like a way to show our dedication to them," Shinoda said. "Our fans continually energize us with their creativity and dedication, so I think they're going to come up with something great."

"A Thousand Suns" is the follow up to Linkin Park's 2007 album "Minutes to Midnight," which has sold 3 million copies, according to Nielsen Soundscan.